Football Official

Football Official

Zebra

Somewhere in, NJ

Male, 62

I've officiated football for over 30 years, now in my 26th on the college level. I've worked NCAA playoffs at the Division II and III level. In addition, I've coached at the scholastic level and have been an educator for over 35 years. I have no interest whatsoever in being an NFL official! Ever!

SubscribeGet emails when new questions are answered. Ask Me Anything!Show Bio +

Share:

Ask me anything!

Submit Your Question

514 Questions

Share:

Last Answer on January 23, 2021

Best Rated

If the person who has the football has a knee that touches the ground, is he down?

Asked by Ed Gouge over 9 years ago

Generally speaking, in HS and college yes. In the NFL, the player needs to be "down by contact", so if a player is running free and slips or trips in the NFL, he can still get up and continue. In HS and college, the player is down.

On a pass two feet are required to be in bounds for a pass to be ruled complete. Could a player double hop on one foot, with adequate ball control, before going out of bounds and it be considered complete.

Asked by Rich over 10 years ago

You gave the answer: "On a pass two feet are required". And that's two different feet, otherwise it's one foot.

in college when a players helmet comes off is the play blown dead then or is it allowed to continue

Asked by millometter over 10 years ago

There are several scenarios to what you ask.  If a ball carrier's helmet comes off, the play is dead immediately.  That's a safety issue.  If anyone else's helmet comes off, they have an opportunity to step away and not participate; the play goes on.  If a player's helmet comes off and he is already engaged (making a play on the runner, in process of making a block) he may continue.  If a player's helmet comes off, he may not continue to play (beyond a step or two) or it is a personal foul.

In the Alabama LSU game, in OT, the first play was a pass to the 1 yard line and a 15 yard penalty was called on Bama after whistle. The refs made it 1st and 10 from the 16. Is this right? Thought it should be 1st and goal from the 16.

Asked by Anthony over 10 years ago

You'd think that, wouldn't you? What happened here, though, is the "line to gain" had not been set; the chains weren't set yet. So under that circumstance (Rule 5-2-7) the penalty is enforced and then the chains are set. It reads: The penalty for any dead ball foul....that occurs after a series ends [they made the line to gain] and before the ball is ready for play shall be completed before the line to gain is established.

1st and 10 from the 16,

If a team punts the ball and the ball lands on <15 and bounces to lets say the <23. Let's say the ball takes a bad bounce and the defender trying to down the ball has no other way to touch the ball but kicking it into the end zone. Wheres the LOS?

Asked by Chris over 10 years ago

Intentionally kicking the ball is a foul.  If a receiver kicks the ball into his own endzone we have a foul and safety.

Kind of a a strange question here; if an offensive player in possession of the ball gets tackled by a defensive player so hard that his arm that is cradling the ball is dismembered is this a fumble or down since his arm is still holding the ball?

Asked by Mike F over 10 years ago

You are so right. That is strange. And after I finish throwing up, I'd say it is a fumble since the runner no longer has possession....of the ball or his arm. Where did you come up with that!?

A receiver is lined up in the line of scrimmage, before the snap, he crosses the line of scrimmage jogging about 5 yards,. QB doesn't snap the ball, the referee tells the player to reset, which he does, then QB snaps the ball.
Is this allowable?

Asked by Marc almost 10 years ago

If he starts jogging downfield, you could consider it a delay of game foul. But that's sort of a stretch. Unless there's some exigent circumstance that I can't figure out, the receiver is creating a false start. That also assumes that the team is pretty much ready to snap the ball - he's on the wrong side of the ball. If a receiver is too far up, an official - the linesman or line judge - might tell him to "watch the ball" and let him correct himself. But the receiver doesn't seem too sharp.