Football Official

Football Official

Zebra

Somewhere in, NJ

Male, 62

I've officiated football for over 30 years, now in my 26th on the college level. I've worked NCAA playoffs at the Division II and III level. In addition, I've coached at the scholastic level and have been an educator for over 35 years. I have no interest whatsoever in being an NFL official! Ever!

SubscribeGet emails when new questions are answered. Ask Me Anything!Show Bio +

Share:

Ask me anything!

Submit Your Question

514 Questions

Share:

Last Answer on January 23, 2021

Best Rated

In college football can a player from the sideline run down the field with the players on the field in celebration when the team is about to score a touchdown and there is no time left on the clock

Asked by Yolanda almost 10 years ago

Technically, no. But the foul would be enforced as a dead ball after the play. In that case (Duke-FSU), the game was over when the foul would be enforced.

A1 go back to pass a2 throws a punch at b2 but misses b3 intercept the pass and takes it in for a touchdown

Asked by Everett about 10 years ago

That's a TD for B. A2 gets disqualified for the swing - contact isn't necessary. Enforce penalty on the try.

During a play a unsportsmanlike flag is thrown on the offensive tackle. the play ends in a touch down. Where is the ball placed?

Asked by Alvin almost 11 years ago

If it's during the play, it is a live ball foul. The penalty is enforced from the previous spot. No score.

1.What is the most important piece of equipment you use as a referee?

Asked by Jack over 9 years ago

Odd question. Most of our equipment is simply clothing. Good shoes help. But the most important thing you take onto the field is your brain.

When a straight arm involves the offense player using the defender's face mail, why isn't that a personal foul?

Asked by Tris Dammin almost 10 years ago

It could be. It is a matter of interpretation and judgment by the official. A push off is likely okay. A grab and twist? Then it is no different than any other face mask call.

Why are the pylons out-of bounds but is called TD if touched-look where they are.

Asked by pschamplin almost 10 years ago

Why, in soccer, is the sideline inbounds? It's the definition. The pylons are not out of bounds; they are part of the goal line "extended". When the ball, while being carried, hits one, it is breaking the plane of the goal. Like wise, if the ball is carried outside the pylon but the player touches the pylon, it is a touchdown since the ball has crossed the goal line "extended".

I saw a touchdown called today where the receiver went out of bounds but whip one foot around and hit the goal marker. The ball didn't "Break the plane". Righteous call or miss.

Asked by John Morris over 9 years ago

There are a lot of possibilities here, so let's look at what you're saying. If the player stepped out of bounds before the ball crossed the plane of the goal line, then yes, it was called a TD in error. However, if the player was outside of the pylon (out of bounds) but the ball stayed inside the pylon when crossing the plane, it is a TD. In your description, the player was out of bounds but he clipped the pylon with a foot - where was the ball? If the player dove at the pylon and struck it with his body even with the ball outside the pylon (the goal line extended), it is a TD.