Zebra
Somewhere in, NJ
Male, 62
I've officiated football for over 30 years, now in my 26th on the college level. I've worked NCAA playoffs at the Division II and III level. In addition, I've coached at the scholastic level and have been an educator for over 35 years. I have no interest whatsoever in being an NFL official! Ever!
There doesn't seem to be anything wrong with this. Not much different than the times when a punter takes a snap and runs around in the endzone (I think this was in last yeat's Super Bowl) to kill time before running out of bounds. Defensive teams have allowed offenses to score in order to get the ball back quickly. It isn't a "mockery" of te game, it's a strategy. As long as the ball carrier isn't taunting (e.g. waving it in the face of the opponent) it seems to be a legal and a smart move.
No. It is still a kick - by definition - and K cannot advance it.
This varies by conference. As an example, the Big Ten pays around $2600 per game. The official, as I understand it, is responsible for all his expenses out of that, including travel, hotel (they have to be there the night before), and meals. At the Division 2 level, one eastern conference that shall remain nameless, pays $235, again a flat fee regardless of travel. One Division 3 eastern conference I know of pays $190, while another in the same general geographic area pays $175.
Because the rules say he can. And he's the only one. A holder can go up off his knee to get a high snap and bring it down for the hold. Likewise, the fact that he's on the ground when he gets the snap would normally make the ball dead. The holder has special rules (college).
CPR Trainer
Is it possible to perform CPR on animals?
Correctional Officer
Why does gang formation and racial segregation happen so much in prisons?
Certified Nurse Aide
Is it true that STD rates in nursing homes are going through the roof?
Ball can't be moved more than half the distance so.....
4th and 1 1/2 from the 2
Unless I'm really screwing this up - always a possibility - it's a touchback. The status of the ball is that it is still a kick, even though it touched a receiver. In high school and college, a grounded kick in he endzone is a touchback. If it was receovered by the kickers in the field of play (between the goal lines), then it would be K's ball.
I'm guessing you're talking about the wideout on the left side of the formation, though you don't say. I'm also not sure if this is a high school or college game. There was nothing that I could see on the runner. The wideout on the left cuts low on the defender. It is, in my opinion, a hit on what could be considered a defenseless player - the play is over when the block is made so that would cause the penalty.
-OR-
Login with Facebook (max 20 characters - letters, numbers, and underscores only. Note that your username is private, and you have the option to choose an alias when asking questions or hosting a Q&A.)
(A valid e-mail address is required. Your e-mail will not be shared with anyone.)
(min 5 characters)
By checking this box, you acknowledge that you have read and agree to Jobstr.com’s Terms and Privacy Policy.
-OR-
Register with Facebook(Don't worry: you'll be able to choose an alias when asking questions or hosting a Q&A.)