Basketball Referee

Basketball Referee

Rndballref

20 Years Experience

Chicago, IL

Male, 60

For twenty years I officiated high school, AAU and park district basketball games, retiring recently. For a few officiating is the focus of their occupation, while for most working as an umpire or basketball referee is an avocation. I started ref'ing to earn beer money during college, but it became a great way to stay connected to the best sports game in the universe. As a spinoff, I wrote a sports-thriller novel loosely based on my referee experiences titled, Advantage Disadvantage

SubscribeGet emails when new questions are answered. Ask Me Anything!Show Bio +

Share:

Ask me anything!

Submit Your Question

651 Questions

Share:

Last Answer on September 20, 2019

Best Rated

Team A scores with 4 seconds left, putting them up by two; clock is running. Team A bench member steps out (slightly) onto the court in celebration as the time expires. Do you assess a T to Team A and give Team B a chance to tie the game?

Asked by JiminJax over 10 years ago

If the bench encroached on Team B's ability to make a play then yes, I would call a T. But normally, the desperate attempt will not occur anywhere near the bench and I would ignore the potential infraction.

Shot clock doesn't do it--have you been watching any of this year NCAA Championship matches? what a mess, teams foul even with 15 sec left and down 10. However, most box scores for college and pros show the team that makes free throws wins.

Asked by daveb over 11 years ago

ok.

Rndballref,

I need your help on the dreaded block/charge call. If a defender is set, but allows the collision to be violent by holding his ground is this an automatic block? I have someone trying to take charges as if they are setting a screen.

Asked by Bball Right about 10 years ago

A defender has every right to hold his ground as long as he obtains the position legally. He has NO obligation to give ground or soften a collision once he obtains initial legal guarding position.

If I set a pick for my ball handler, and the defender runs into me, causing me to be pushed back a few steps, is that a moving screen? (Assuming I was already in position)

Asked by Hanna over 10 years ago

If you obtained legal guarding position and you were dislodged off your spot by an opponent it is a team control foul on your opponent's team.

Another Backcourt question:- Once front court status is achieved. Team A passes to teammate, but hits the hand of team B (Defense) and then hits the hand of team A's teammate and goes backcourt. (neither team a or team b's player is in "control")

Asked by MJ about 11 years ago

Team control ends when there is a try or tip, an opponent secures control, or the ball becomes dead.  Hitting the hand of player B does not constitute control so I would say if the ball is picked up by team a in the backcourt it is a violation.

Why do we tell players to hold their spot or that they can run the endline on throw in.

Is it in our manual to INSTRUCT them on throw ins?

Asked by luvjoy over 10 years ago

Most instructors will tell you that indicating a spot or a runner throw in to both the offense and defense is good, solid preventative officiating so that if there is a thrown violation neither team can complain about a misunderstanding.

To my knowledge this mechanic is NOT in the official's manual.

Hello,

This question is for youth basketball u15 girls. Can you shout ball ball ball as the defender in front of your check when the offensive player has the ball. The ref last night called it a foul but I don't think that's a fiba rule.

Asked by dleong@uvic.ca over 10 years ago

There is no provision for a violation or foul for talking or shouting.  There is only one way it might be construed a foul and that is behavior that is considered unsportsmanlike.  But to me, shouting "ball, ball, ball" would not rise to the level of unsportsmanlike.