Football Official

Football Official

Zebra

Somewhere in, NJ

Male, 62

I've officiated football for over 30 years, now in my 26th on the college level. I've worked NCAA playoffs at the Division II and III level. In addition, I've coached at the scholastic level and have been an educator for over 35 years. I have no interest whatsoever in being an NFL official! Ever!

SubscribeGet emails when new questions are answered. Ask Me Anything!Show Bio +

Share:

Ask me anything!

Submit Your Question

514 Questions

Share:

Last Answer on January 23, 2021

Best Rated

If an offensive and defensive player catch the football together and hit the ground but one player gets up with the ball who gets credit for the catch

Asked by Cdk over 8 years ago

We'll only talk highvschool or college here. Simultaneous catches or recoveries go to the offense. When you say "hit the ground" you need to clarify. Catching off the ground and then returning and touching the ground with their feet? Or bodies going to the ground where the players are grounded ending the play? If they come to the ground on their feet in "joint possession", it's still a live ball and they can fight it out. If they go to the ground in joint possession, it's the offense's ball.

Hi - The other night in a HS game, the K team punted to the R team. After the ball was blown dead, the BJ stopped the R team players from leaving the field. He then counted 12 players and threw a flag. Once a play is blown dead, can he then count the

Asked by N.E. Fan about 8 years ago

While unusual, it's the right thing to do. It may be that the official, possibly getting to it late or the offense ran the play quickly, was in the process of counting when the play went off. Yes, the official should be counting "faster" but the idea is to get it right. He did. If the official thought he had 12, a less than perfect solution could be to stop play if he thinks he has 12, count, then flag it. If there are 11, play on.

What happens in college football when the runners own player knocks him backwards and down to the ground. How is forward progress determined? Since the defense did not stop him – should he be down where he lands and not where the forward most spot of the ball?

Asked by Brian Jarrell about 9 years ago

I wish I had seen this - it's the second question about it. Here's the answer - repeated: A player is moving forward until he isn't. If a runner collides with a teammate and falls down, he's down. Once the runner's own action stops propelling him forward - unless he runs backwards of his accord - he has ended his "forward progress". And to add/clarify: It is where the ball is when his forward movement ends, whether tackled or he falls on his own or after contact with his teammate.

If a member of the punting team touches the ball on the 2 yard line, and knocks it into the end zone where his teammate covers the ball, is it a touchback?

Asked by James Dean over 7 years ago

Yes. The axiom is "a kick is a kick is a kick". If K touches the ball, it is "illegal" or "first" touching, depending on the level (HS, NCAA). But the ball as you describe it is still considered a kick, so being downed in the endzone makes it a touchback.

I've been a Ram fan since 67,my question is why was the 1967 playoff game between the Los Angeles Rams and the Green Bay Packers played at Lambeau field instead of Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum? The Rams had a better record plus they beat the Packers

Asked by Roy H almost 9 years ago

I'm anot official, not a football historian.

I saw a recent NFL game where the punter tackled the punt returner. To what extent is it legal to block the punter? I recall a rule making the punter "protected," even when he's running downfield to possibly tackle the kick returner.

Asked by Bridgbum almost 9 years ago

Once the punter has kicked and recovers and goes to be involved in the play (going after/tackling a runner) he's a player and is no different than any other player. Same with a QB after an interception. If the QB goes to tackle and participates in the play, he's fair game. If he just stands there, then you can't hit him.

If a referee throws a flag for offsides on the defense and the "free" play results in a turn over. Is the referee allowed to pick up the flag and say it was not offsides and the interception counts? Or should this result in a replayed down?

Asked by Paula over 8 years ago

The defense had a problem. The offense will accept the penalty for offside and the down will be replayed. Tough luck.