Zebra
Somewhere in, NJ
Male, 62
I've officiated football for over 30 years, now in my 26th on the college level. I've worked NCAA playoffs at the Division II and III level. In addition, I've coached at the scholastic level and have been an educator for over 35 years. I have no interest whatsoever in being an NFL official! Ever!
Good question. Are you an Ohio State or Michigan fan? The philosophy officials often use is "advantage/disadvantage". Did the action have a material impact on the play? Having an arm around a receiver isn't automatically a foul. Did the arm actually hook or grab the receiver and turn him away from the ball, or prevent him from reaching for the ball? Or was the arm being there just a good play, timed right? The rules today at virtually all levels - but especially the NFL - favor offense. So I return to the earlier point: Did the action have a material impact on the play? If yes, then we have a foul. And that's why those deep officials get the big bucks - for their judgment on that play.
Couple of possibilities. First, if you see the 12, you want to shut it down before the play goes off. That's the proper mechanic and the better situation. But, they simply may have still been counting (late sub, e.g.) and the ball was snapped. It's possible the player was trying to get off the field but didn't make it and the play went off. You could still shut it down but they didn't. Sometimes stuff just happens and itisn't the ideal.
Let's change some terminology. Offense is A and defense is B. A has 3rd and 3 on the B4, so the line to brain is the B1. B commits a foul with a 5 yard penalty. But you're in an area where you can only go half the distance. Half the distance from the B4 is the B2. It's now 3rd and 1.
If you're looking for a safety, you wont find it. The foul occurs in the field of play and should be a previous spot foul.
Bartender
School Teacher
Personal Stylist & Life Coach
Yes. Unless something else happens that isn't described here, it was the offense that put the ball in its own end zone. If it goes out, it's their responsibility. If they recover it there, it's a safety. And if the defense recovers, it's a touchdown
No. It's an accepted part of the game.
Forward progress. The runner is entitled to what he earns. If he made the line to gain and then was pushed back, he gets what he gained - first down. The run ended at the forward progress mark. So the fact that he fumbled is moot.
-OR-
(max 20 characters - letters, numbers, and underscores only. Note that your username is private, and you have the option to choose an alias when asking questions or hosting a Q&A.)
(A valid e-mail address is required. Your e-mail will not be shared with anyone.)
(min 5 characters)
By checking this box, you acknowledge that you have read and agree to Jobstr.com’s Terms and Privacy Policy.
-OR-
(Don't worry: you'll be able to choose an alias when asking questions or hosting a Q&A.)