Football Official

Football Official

Zebra

Somewhere in, NJ

Male, 62

I've officiated football for over 30 years, now in my 26th on the college level. I've worked NCAA playoffs at the Division II and III level. In addition, I've coached at the scholastic level and have been an educator for over 35 years. I have no interest whatsoever in being an NFL official! Ever!

SubscribeGet emails when new questions are answered. Ask Me Anything!Show Bio +

Share:

Ask me anything!

Submit Your Question

514 Questions

Share:

Last Answer on January 23, 2021

Best Rated

If the offense snaps the ball over the head of the QB into the endzone and during the scrambel for the ball it is knocked out of the back of the endzone is that a safety?

Asked by Dan over 7 years ago

Yes. Unless something else happens that isn't described here, it was the offense that put the ball in its own end zone. If it goes out, it's their responsibility. If they recover it there, it's a safety. And if the defense recovers, it's a touchdown

Yo, if the quarterback fumbles the ball behind the line of scrimmage, then for some reason, instead of recovering it or picking it up, he kicks it off the ground through the uprights, is that a field goal?

Asked by Zach over 7 years ago

Yo? Really?

No. What you describe is a foul. Intentionally kicking a ball - not a scrimmage kick - is a foul.

High School Football Question:
If there are two live ball fouls called on one team, one is for holding and the other is a unsportsmanlike, can both fouls be administered?

Asked by Dan C over 8 years ago

Really good question and my first thought was NO, but the unsportsmanlike set off bells. I decided to check anyway and I was wrong.

In the rule book, pg 76, 10-2-4, " When a team commits a non-player or unsportsmanlike foulduring that same down, it is administered from the succeeding spot as established by the acceptance or declination of the penalty for the other foul."

In the case book: pg 101, 10.4.5, situation A, B, and  D.

It should be noted that the dead ball fouls they talk about are "coach coming onto the field to criticize an official, player swearing."

Would you or could you call a delay of game penalty. The Falcons intercept Brady deep in Falcon territory. During thr runback all Patriots players give up about the 50 yard line. Alford stops before crossing the goal line to run off time off clock.

Asked by Dick E over 8 years ago

No. It's an accepted part of the game.

Question on HS kickoff rules. If a kickoff is popped into the air (doesn't hit the ground) the receiving team can fair catch the ball. The kicking team cannot advance the ball if they recover, but can the kicking team catch the ball out air?

Asked by HSCoach almost 8 years ago

Kicking cannot legally touch tbe ball until it has gone 10 yards. Yes, they can cat h it in the air but they are also subject to kick catch interference rules. The receivers can call for a fair catch.

In the Cowboys Giants game the Giants threw a pass just past the 1st down mark and then was pushed back and fumbled the ball another Giant recovered short of the 1st why were the Giants awarded a 1st down?

Asked by lousulliva over 7 years ago

Forward progress. The runner is entitled to what he earns. If he made the line to gain and then was pushed back, he gets what he gained - first down. The run ended at the forward progress mark. So the fact that he fumbled is moot.

What happens in college football when the runners own player knocks him backwards and down to the ground. How is forward progress determined? Since the defense did not stop him – should he be down where he lands and not where the forward most spot of the ball?

Asked by Brian Jarrell over 8 years ago

I wish I had seen this - it's the second question about it. Here's the answer - repeated: A player is moving forward until he isn't. If a runner collides with a teammate and falls down, he's down. Once the runner's own action stops propelling him forward - unless he runs backwards of his accord - he has ended his "forward progress". And to add/clarify: It is where the ball is when his forward movement ends, whether tackled or he falls on his own or after contact with his teammate.