Football Official

Football Official

Zebra

Somewhere in, NJ

Male, 62

I've officiated football for over 30 years, now in my 26th on the college level. I've worked NCAA playoffs at the Division II and III level. In addition, I've coached at the scholastic level and have been an educator for over 35 years. I have no interest whatsoever in being an NFL official! Ever!

SubscribeGet emails when new questions are answered. Ask Me Anything!Show Bio +

Share:

Ask me anything!

Submit Your Question

514 Questions

Share:

Last Answer on January 23, 2021

Best Rated

Why in the Lions Green bay game was the Packers awarded the ball on a kickoff that didn't go out of bounds but the player did and was out of bounds when he recovered the ball on the 2 yard line . The Lions were given a 15 yard penalty.

Asked by Robert lozon almost 9 years ago

I answered this one above but.....

If the ball touches anything that's out of bounds, the ball is out of bounds. Therefore if the player is out of bounds - or straddling the line - then the ball is a kick out of bounds and a foul against the kicking team.

Why is a quarterback not charged for "intentional grounding" when he spikes the ball?

Asked by Les over 8 years ago

The rules allow the player who "first controls the snap" to immediately throw it to the ground without being called for grounding.

In the game tonight, Cam was taken down behind the line of scrimmage, why isn’t that recorded as a Sack?

Asked by Setty almost 8 years ago

Officials don't deal with statistics so I can't answer definitively. If it was,a "dezigned" run from thecstaff, then he's a runner, not a passer, hence no sack (?).

with regard to forward progress - if an offensive player is running and then collides with a teammate at the 35 yard line and falls backwards landing on the ground with the ball at the 34 yard line is the ball spotted at the 34 or 35

Asked by boby almost 9 years ago

I have answered this question - or a variation of it - three times. No more!

If a team was punting out of their own endzone, and the punter muffed the kick straight up and a person on the opposition called a fair catch in the endzone would it be a touchdown. Also if they interfered with the fair catch would it be a touchdown?

Asked by Erik almost 8 years ago

Let's correct a term first. The punter can't muff the kick. What I think you're saying is the punter kicked the ball straight up in the air. If the ball was still in the endzone, that means the kick never crossed the line of scrimmage. And that means you can't call for a fair catch. If the receiving team has possession in that endzone, you have a touchdown.

Can a receiving team advance a punt after it has been touched by a kicking team

Asked by Bart S almost 9 years ago

Yes. The touch by K is - depending on the level - first touching or illegal touching. The ball is,still alive, but R can take the ball at the spot of the touch.

Has there ever been an NFL fame where they did not kick a field go when they were in field goal range and it was almost halftime?

Asked by Sean Duong almost 9 years ago

Sorry, this isn't a trivia or history site.