Football Official

Football Official

Zebra

Somewhere in, NJ

Male, 62

I've officiated football for over 30 years, now in my 26th on the college level. I've worked NCAA playoffs at the Division II and III level. In addition, I've coached at the scholastic level and have been an educator for over 35 years. I have no interest whatsoever in being an NFL official! Ever!

SubscribeGet emails when new questions are answered. Ask Me Anything!Show Bio +

Share:

Ask me anything!

Submit Your Question

514 Questions

Share:

Last Answer on January 23, 2021

Best Rated

Ok if your team get caught with 12 men on the field right as the 12th player is walking off its a free play for offence right? so can that player turn around and participate in the play because the penalty has already been called?

Asked by hunter k over 7 years ago

Nice try. If you pulled that, you might find an official willing to throw a second flag for a personal foul (you shouldn't have been there!) or unsportsmanlike conduct. First, if they catch 12 on the field, they should shut it down and not let the play go off. That's the proper mechanic, despite TV announcers saying the QB is trying to catch them. If they don;t catch it early enough, it isn't real a "free play". They need to shut it down.

Why in the Lions Green bay game was the Packers awarded the ball on a kickoff that didn't go out of bounds but the player did and was out of bounds when he recovered the ball on the 2 yard line . The Lions were given a 15 yard penalty.

Asked by Robert lozon almost 9 years ago

I answered this one above but.....

If the ball touches anything that's out of bounds, the ball is out of bounds. Therefore if the player is out of bounds - or straddling the line - then the ball is a kick out of bounds and a foul against the kicking team.

If on same play team #1 commits 2 infractions and team #2 commits one infraction, what is the result of the play

Asked by louko over 8 years ago

While there are some exceptions to this, the folks offset. If there is a found that results in a dusqualuficaton, even with an offset, be player is still ejected.

By Rule, is an offensive lineman (or any other offensive player) allowed to grasp the jersey of a defensive player when blocking?

Asked by MrMoJoe over 7 years ago

The simple answer is no. Not by "rule". By rule you can't grasp, pull, or hook an opponent. But the reality is that players do grasp and it is "allowed" (and I use that term carefully) as long as the block (it is still blocking) is inside the frame of the opponent. If the "grasping" is in desperation because the defender got away and the blocker just grabs and pulls on the shirt and you see it stretch, you have holding. If the blocker grabs the defender's arms but doesn't take him down or turn him away from the play, it is likely going to be allowed.

Why doesn't the Miami/Bulls game have any pink ribbon on field or on themselves?

Asked by Ka over 8 years ago

That is,a league/ team issue, not officiating.

Team A punts from the 50, at the B-1 yard line player A-33 stops the ball and half his body slides across B's goal line. B's ball on B-1 or Touchback.

Asked by Compujok over 8 years ago

Depends on what game you're watching. As i understand it, in the NFL your scenario is a touchback. In college, if the ball is touched at the B1 and it stays there, it's at the one. If the ball is touched at the 1 and goes into the end zone, touchback.

player is in field of play reaches ball to outside of pylon is this a touchdown ?

Asked by dmesz15@hotmail.com almost 9 years ago

Hmm. I'm trying to envision your play. If the ball carrier is still inside the pylon as he crosses the goal, then the ball touching the pylon makes it "in bounds" and you have a TD. But if the ball crosses the sideline before it reaches the pylon, say at the one or two yard line, then it's out of bounds and even if the player hits the pylon, with his body, the ball is out of bounds where it crossed the sideline.