Football Official

Football Official

Zebra

Somewhere in, NJ

Male, 62

I've officiated football for over 30 years, now in my 26th on the college level. I've worked NCAA playoffs at the Division II and III level. In addition, I've coached at the scholastic level and have been an educator for over 35 years. I have no interest whatsoever in being an NFL official! Ever!

SubscribeGet emails when new questions are answered. Ask Me Anything!Show Bio +

Share:

Ask me anything!

Submit Your Question

514 Questions

Share:

Last Answer on January 23, 2021

Best Rated

To what extent is a tackler responsible for knowing whether the ballcarrier is in-bounds or OB? Assume late whistles:
A: Ballcarrier steps on sideline and is immediately tackled.
B: Ballcarrier is two steps OB and is tackled.
C. All cases in-between

Asked by Bridgbum over 8 years ago

That's a good question. Simply put, the tackler is responsible - period. And don't assume any whistle; as is often said, the play kills itself, not the whistle. For example, if a player is down and there's no immediate whistle, and the player gets hit, it's a foul, whistle or not.

Back to out of bounds: in your example A, you can envision the tackler right there as the runner hits OOB. You probably don't flag that because it's happening so quickly at the sideline. In B, you have a foul; that's pretty obvious. Cases in between? There really isn't an in-between. If the runner steps out, he's out and can't be hit. If the contact begins while the runner is in bounds, then it's not a foul unless there is unnecessary continuing contact out of bounds.



If a touchdown can be made by just breaking the end zone plane, why wasn’t Jesse James’ touchdown at the end of the Steelers/Patriots game on 12/17/17 upheld? It was an EXTREMELY poor call reversal.

Asked by Janice over 7 years ago

Well, you're asking me to explain the NFL's catch rule which is inexplicable. I saw it, got excited because i root for anyone playing the Pats, then realized that it was being reviewed. Meaning logic went out the window. James was not a runner. He was a pass receiver who had not yet become a runner. With me still? As a result, he had to "survive tbe ground", even though the NFL's Al Riveron actually said in his explanation that Ben completed a pass to James. Had James been a runner, then breaking the plane scores the TD, as you state. But he was not a runner, he was still a receiver. Still with me now? Had he pulled the ball in to his body, he probably catches it and the Steelers set up for the next play on the 1 1/2. Had gecstill been in college, it's likely a catch, too. Or as Tony Dungy said, anywhere but the NFL, that's a touchdown.

Why is a runner/receiver ruled out of bounds when/where the ball crosses the imaginary plane of the boundary. But a ball can be caught after it crosses the same plane? The first is difficult to officiate and get the spot right even in replay.

Asked by Stuart.a.tomlinson@gmail.com over 7 years ago

Your question is a little confusing but let me try.

When a runner goes out of bounds, the ball is spotted where the ball crosses the OOB line, not the runner. It's pretty straight forward and not that difficult to officiate.

I'm not quite sure what the second part of your question means, but here goes. The ball isn't out of bounds until it touches something out of bounds. A player in the field of play is not OOB. So if a player reaches out and catches a ball that has crossed the sideline - and he is still in bounds - the ball is still in play and it's a catch.

In the Packers game, Nelson caught a pass and it was reviewed. It was not a 1st down due to a defensive penalty, but Pererra said it was not a 1st down based on the catch because the spot Is where first contact is made. Why not forward progress?

Asked by Tracy over 8 years ago

I saw the play, heard Pereira. Wasn't quite sure what he meant. It can't be forward progress - which I think was still short - because Jordan on his own went backwards. Had he been hit and pushed back by the defender, then you have forward progress,

If a team is going for 2 and throws an interception and the intercepting player eh s the ball out of the end zone but then fumbles and the origin al team recovers and returns it to the end zone. Would that be 2 points or six because of change of poss

Asked by Rick R over 8 years ago

A try is,a special period of play. Six points can only be awarded on a touchdown, not a try. Two points.

When is a punter no longer protected. If an Australian style punter runs outside the hash marks before kicking the ball, can he be hit even if he punts.

Asked by kevin over 8 years ago

Very good question. When he runs, he is a runner and can be hit - legally- like any other ball carrier. But if he stops to kick, he's a kicker and is subject to those protections. The referee (white hat) has responsibility for the kicker. He has to make the judgement of when the punter stops being a runner and becomes a kicker.

So how does that rule change when a Quarterback falls backwards when stepped on by his own lineman? They mark where he falls not where he started to fall when stepped on. Technically no forward momentum.

Asked by Brian Jarrell123 over 8 years ago

The rule doesn't change. Forward progress is....well, forward progress. If the QB pulls out from under center and gets stepped on and falls, the ball is marked where progress ended. Now, since he "retreated" from the center and went down, that's where he's down. It's like when a receiver catches a ball in advance of the line to gain but circles back hoping to get a lane to run in. If he is tackled behind where he caught the ball, that is where it's marked. He had progress but he gave it up of his own accord; he went back on his own.