Zebra
Somewhere in, NJ
Male, 62
I've officiated football for over 30 years, now in my 26th on the college level. I've worked NCAA playoffs at the Division II and III level. In addition, I've coached at the scholastic level and have been an educator for over 35 years. I have no interest whatsoever in being an NFL official! Ever!
I didn't see this play so I'm not sure what to rule. If a ball carrier (QB or other) extends the ball and he isn't yet down (or forward progress ruled), then the ball is still alive. If Peterson is also on the Bears (sorry, don't know) and he recovers behind the line, then that is where the succeeding spot (next snap) takes place. If Peterson is on the other team, it's their ball if the loose ball (Keenum's fumble) is still alive. As I said, simply because the ball crossed the line to gain, if the play is still alive, then we don't have a first down.
Grounded kick in the endzone untouched by R is dead.
You're looking at NFHS Rule 7-2-5. On downs 1, 2, and 3, you need five lineman numbered 50-79. Exception: if the team shifts into a scrimmage kick formation, only the center can be a numbering exception. On fourth down, or a kick try, you can have numbering exceptions on the line, players other than 50-79.
Steve, you're asking the same question. I can't answer it any differently. There is consistency in the fact that when the offense puts the ball into their opponents endzone (e.g. punt) it's a touchback. Same here.
Meter Maid
Audiologist
Hospice Nurse
The NFL us very tight in ruling on uniforms and equipment. I'm not sure how a glove can he confused with an official's flag. And a flag does not stop s play so its unlikely anyone would be letting up ifctheyvsaw a flag...or a glove.
I was speaking with an NFL team official a few weeks ago (yeah, that sounds pretty cool) and he brought that up. If I recall correctly, the answer is yes. The receiving team has an opportunity to possess the ball...and they failed by not recovering. So both teams, in fact, would have had an opportunity to possess. A FG wins it.
No, it's illegal. An onside kick is a free kick which must be from a tee or by dropkick. A dropkick, by definition, is a ball kicked immediately after hitting the ground, not 3, 4, or 5 feet in the air. A similar mistake was made in a college game a few weeks ago.
-OR-
(max 20 characters - letters, numbers, and underscores only. Note that your username is private, and you have the option to choose an alias when asking questions or hosting a Q&A.)
(A valid e-mail address is required. Your e-mail will not be shared with anyone.)
(min 5 characters)
By checking this box, you acknowledge that you have read and agree to Jobstr.com’s Terms and Privacy Policy.
-OR-
(Don't worry: you'll be able to choose an alias when asking questions or hosting a Q&A.)