Football Official

Football Official

Zebra

Somewhere in, NJ

Male, 62

I've officiated football for over 30 years, now in my 26th on the college level. I've worked NCAA playoffs at the Division II and III level. In addition, I've coached at the scholastic level and have been an educator for over 35 years. I have no interest whatsoever in being an NFL official! Ever!

SubscribeGet emails when new questions are answered. Ask Me Anything!Show Bio +

Share:

Ask me anything!

Submit Your Question

514 Questions

Share:

Last Answer on January 23, 2021

Best Rated

Alabam vs Auburn 2014. TD Pass that tied the game. 3 offensive lineman clearly beyond LOS, not blocking anyone at time of pass. How could that have been missed? I can send a screen shot.

Asked by DougMH almost 6 years ago

Don't know the play but...

OLs can be beyond the LOS. They can't be more than three yards downfield when the ball is thrown. So it may not be a foul at all.

What rule would be violated (if any) if the O-line decided to hold hands after the snap [and essentially play a version of Red Rover] when pass protecting?

Asked by sploxy about 6 years ago

That's interlocked interference. In college, the rule states, "Teammates of the ball carrier or passer may interfere for him by blocking but shall not use interlocked interference by grasping or encircling one another in any manner while contacting an opponent." Besides the fact that their hands or arms might get broken!

A youth (8B) football game last night in Wilmette Il. Offsve player ran with ball, contact made and fumbled at 3 yd line, ball went fwd to end zne, another offsve player recovered. Refs ruled a TD. Correct? Or if recoved by O, back to spt of Fmb

Asked by Jonathan Frawley about 6 years ago

They're correct. Ball is inbounds and is still a live ball.

How do I remove myself from this site

Asked by Steve in motown almost 6 years ago

You'll have to ask someone who knows that answer.

Case Keenum against the bears,When he leaped and extended the ball for the first down and then fumbled, if Peterson recovered the ball behind the first down line would it have been a first down due to change of possession? because 1st down was made

Asked by Leo about 6 years ago

I didn't see this play so I'm not sure what to rule. If a ball carrier (QB or other) extends the ball and he isn't yet down (or forward progress ruled), then the ball is still alive. If Peterson is also on the Bears (sorry, don't know) and he recovers behind the line, then that is where the succeeding spot (next snap) takes place. If Peterson is on the other team, it's their ball if the loose ball (Keenum's fumble) is still alive. As I said, simply because the ball crossed the line to gain, if the play is still alive, then we don't have a first down.

Ok on a punt return is the return team allowed to hold the gunner as in blocking technique down the field

Asked by Daniel almost 6 years ago

They can hold him up, but can't "hold". Is there grabbing? Yes. But the restriction has to be more than "chicken fighting" down the field. And if it's a double team, it is less likely to be called since the receivers are giving up an extra player in the blocking.

Why no dead ball call when the sfo db was clearly out of bounds,started to strip the ball from the sea receiver,come back in bounds,while the receiver still had possession of rhe ball,and then successfully strip the ball for a fumble?

Asked by JO almost 6 years ago

The rules analyst on the game, John Parry, explained that since the ball carrier had possession in bounds, the ball was alive with the runner in bounds. That despite the fact that the defender had a foot out of bounds. Since the strip of the ball occurred in the field of play, at least according to what Parry said, the ball was still alive.