Basketball Referee

Basketball Referee

Rndballref

20 Years Experience

Chicago, IL

Male, 60

For twenty years I officiated high school, AAU and park district basketball games, retiring recently. For a few officiating is the focus of their occupation, while for most working as an umpire or basketball referee is an avocation. I started ref'ing to earn beer money during college, but it became a great way to stay connected to the best sports game in the universe. As a spinoff, I wrote a sports-thriller novel loosely based on my referee experiences titled, Advantage Disadvantage

SubscribeGet emails when new questions are answered. Ask Me Anything!Show Bio +

Share:

Ask me anything!

Submit Your Question

651 Questions

Share:

Last Answer on September 20, 2019

Best Rated

team a is shooting a free throw. player on team b steps in early and free throw shooter shoots an air ball. double violation go to arrow or team b violated 1st and team a re-shoots free throw? i've talked to several refs & gotten different opinions

Asked by midd44 over 8 years ago

If player b stepped in first it is a delayed violation and player a is awarded another throw. If player b did not step in before it was clear the ball would not touch the ring then no violation. The answer to your question is entirely bssed on whether b violated. If b did not violate, then b gets the ball. If b violated then a gets another free throw, regardless of whether the free throw is an air ball.

player is directly under the hoop as shot clock is expiring. player throws the ball & hits the rim from directly under the hoop. the ball never had a real chance to go in & is not "really" a shot. does the shot clock get reset? thanks

Asked by midd44 over 8 years ago

There is no shot clock in nfhs except by state authorization. But yes, where a shot clock.is used any contact between ball and ring resets the shot timer.

So if I catch the ball on the three line and pump fake a shot then I side step to the left or right without dribbling and after he jumps is that a travel. take two steps after a fast break when you catch the ball to lay up it in.

Asked by Jordan over 8 years ago

The travelling rules are built around your pivot foot. If you have a pivot foot, you can step with the other foot and lift your pivot but it is travelling if your pivot foot touches the floor after lifting it, it is travelling. As far as the three point goes, your position is where your feet were when you jumped. So if a foot is touching the line when you jump it is a try for 2.

When does the 5 seconds for inbounding commence after a made basket under HS rules? We had a steal and a breakaway layup while the opposition was giving each other stinkeyes in front court. Thx.

Asked by Rodk almost 9 years ago

The rulebook says that the count starts when the ball is at the throw in team's disposal.

Backcourt called: My center brought the ball across half court & decided to pass the ball back to me in the backcourt.As he madethe pass I jumped toward the ball,caught in the air in the backcourt but landed both feet in the front court. Violation?

Asked by Peter D almost 8 years ago

Normally, when you jump in the air you are considered to have status in the area where you alighted from. So, in your case, the ball was established in the front court, you jumped from the backcourt and caught the ball in the air ... violation.There are two exceptions to this rule. 1. Throw ins, and 2. Defense intercepting a pass.

I just wanted to confirm your answer. LEGAL
1. I am dribbling right handed from half court down to about the right elbow with the defender in front. I drive to the right of defender and while keeping my dribble I slightly raise my right knee with a slight hop off my left foot and then crossover right hand to left hand in front of me and drive to the leftside for a layup.

My Question: Is it ok to raise my right knee up and do a slight hop with my left foot while keeping my dribble ?
• (LEGAL ) You cannot travel in the middle of legally dribbling. So yes you can!

Asked by Doug over 8 years ago

You can hop, skip or jump in the middle of a dribble as long as you dont palm the ball or double dribble.

can the player with the ball use his elbow to fend off the defender when he's dribble driving to the basket?

Asked by Ron over 8 years ago

The offensive player can extend his forearm within his vertical space. But the instance he pushes the defender outside the vertical.space he is entitled to, it is a player control foul