Basketball Referee

Basketball Referee

Rndballref

20 Years Experience

Chicago, IL

Male, 60

For twenty years I officiated high school, AAU and park district basketball games, retiring recently. For a few officiating is the focus of their occupation, while for most working as an umpire or basketball referee is an avocation. I started ref'ing to earn beer money during college, but it became a great way to stay connected to the best sports game in the universe. As a spinoff, I wrote a sports-thriller novel loosely based on my referee experiences titled, Advantage Disadvantage

SubscribeGet emails when new questions are answered. Ask Me Anything!Show Bio +

Share:

Ask me anything!

Submit Your Question

651 Questions

Share:

Last Answer on September 20, 2019

Best Rated

What happens when a player shooting a free throw dribbles the ball off their foot and it rolls under the basket? In my daughters game they called it a turn over.

Asked by Don over 9 years ago

You cannot travel or double dribble on a free throw. Likewise, a player is allowed to dribble in the paint will standing behind the free throw line. Unless the count was closing in on 10 seconds, I would return the ball to the free throw shooter and start a new 10 second count.

When I refereed in the 1980s, we were taught that a held ball occurs when neither player has control of the ball, but both are trying to get possession. Recently a ref told me its when BOTH have possession? Both of us can't be right?

Asked by rvi777 almost 11 years ago

Here is the definition of "held ball" in the rule book: 

A held ball occurs when 1…opponents have their hands so firmly on the ball that control cannot be obtained without due roughness, or 2…an opponent places his/her hands on the ball and prevents an airborne player from throwing the ball or releasing it on a try.

In the first instance, control cannot be obtained. In the second instance the offensive player starts with control but then loses the ability (i.e.. control) to pass or shoot. So I think you are splitting hairs - each of you are right and wrong in definition 1 vs 2.

Hi Rndballref, A1 has ball out of bounds 5 ft past half court inside front court. A1 bounce passes ball to A2 who is in backcourt meaning that he ball bounces in front court before A2 catches it while standing in back court. Legal or turnover? Thx

Asked by Peter Johnston over 9 years ago

Legal. There is mo team possession on a throw in. So team A does not have possession until they hold the ball in the backcourt. The fact that the ball bounced in A's front court is immaterial because Team A did not have possession then.

Player gets called for a foul which results in a spot throw in. Two technical fouls are then called when the ball is dead one on each team. Would the ball be then put in play at POI or do you go to the possession arrow?

Asked by DW24 over 9 years ago

The technical fouls offset and we go to the possession arrow for a throw in at half court.

Team A shoots the ball. A long rebound to the 3pt line. Both teams trying for possession, Team A tips the ball into backcourt. Team A secures rebound in backcourt. Is this over and back? There was no possession in front court after shot.

Asked by Rmwttn over 9 years ago

If team A controlled the tap, then they established team control, and it would be a backcourt violation. If in the judgement of the officials team A did not control the tap, then no violation.

Can an offensive player while dribbling the ball initiate contact on a defensive player (who is running even with the offensive player) by running into the defensive player with his shoulder

Asked by Dean444444 almost 11 years ago

If it is "incidental", that is if the offensive player does not gain an advantageous benefit from the contact, then I would pass on the foul. BUT, if the defender is knocked back, or his legal forward momentum is disrupted to the detriment of his defensive positioning, then it is a player control foul (formerly called "a charge."

does arrow on change of possesion change if team doesn't get ball inbounds?

Asked by Jeff over 9 years ago

yes, the arrow changes once the ball it at the disposal of the throw in player.