Basketball Referee

Basketball Referee

Rndballref

20 Years Experience

Chicago, IL

Male, 60

For twenty years I officiated high school, AAU and park district basketball games, retiring recently. For a few officiating is the focus of their occupation, while for most working as an umpire or basketball referee is an avocation. I started ref'ing to earn beer money during college, but it became a great way to stay connected to the best sports game in the universe. As a spinoff, I wrote a sports-thriller novel loosely based on my referee experiences titled, Advantage Disadvantage

SubscribeGet emails when new questions are answered. Ask Me Anything!Show Bio +

Share:

Ask me anything!

Submit Your Question

651 Questions

Share:

Last Answer on September 20, 2019

Best Rated

do direct techs to a coach count toward team fouls

Asked by RefDre almost 10 years ago

yes, but not indirect technicals.

Hi Ref,

Player A1 dribbles then stops and holds the ball with both hands. Defensive player B1 smacks the ball from A1 causing it to hit the floor and bounce up to A1. What options does A1 have?

Asked by Peter Johnston over 10 years ago

A1 can dribble pass or shoot because B1 knocked the ball away and A1 no longer had player possession.

Does the ball have to be in play for a foul to be called? I coach a youth team (ages 10-12) & I instructed one of my players to foul a player on the other team, and he did so, but the ball hadn't been in bounded yet, and it wasn't called. That right?

Asked by Brian M. over 9 years ago

If the ball is live, then any foul can be called. If the ball is dead, the only foul which can be called is a technical.

On a throw in, the ball is live (even though the clock is not running) when it is at the disposal of throw in player ... in other words when the referee hands or bounces the ball to the player. So, yes a common foul can be called before the clock runs.

One player on defense loses his shoe while the offense is running a play. The Ref calls for play to stop so the player can put his shoe on. Seems to me he should have waited till the play was over. What do you say?

Asked by Mike over 11 years ago

The ref should stop the game right away if a player is injured or in imminent danger.  The ref can delay the play stoppage to allow the offensive team to complete a play if there is no immediate danger to any players.  The refs are also to stop play immediately if there is a vision issue such as lost contact lense or glasses knocked off someone's head.

In your situation, I would have let the offense finish the play - BUT if the offense was driving to the basket and then kicked the ball back out out to reset the play, I would have stopped the game, 

On a designated spot throw in. Can a player take one step forward to adminster a throw in

Asked by Rox over 10 years ago

On a spot throw-in, a player must stay within a 3 foot area along the out of bounds boundary. That three foot area extends from the out of bounds line all the way back to the wall, or the first obstruction (bleachers, table, etc.).  

So to answer your question, as long as the player does not step in bounds before releasing the ball, he can take as many steps forward short of breaching the out bounds line.

Youth basketball (13-14) ball is in play & scorekeeper hits buzzer in error; some players continue the game (clock still running) & no whistle was blown. A basket is made & then the whistle blows & referee claims no basket. Was this a correct call?

Asked by Debbie over 10 years ago

Players should play until a whistle is blown. In your scenario the refs made two mistakes: 1) if there is not an advantage by the team in possession when the buzzer sounded, they should blow the whistle and find out what the timekeeper wanted, and 2) once they let the game continue then they should count all activities until the whistle.

IS Allen Iverson's Crossover a travel? I mean he does a crossover before his body and take three steps for a lay up without any dribble. See this video
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nkkNcIDZquc

Asked by JYAO almost 10 years ago

One principle is that you cannot travel between dribbles. Iverson probably travels (high school rules) when he jumps forward BEFORE he dribbles, a move Michael Jordan used as well. Iverson also, like Jordan, carries the ball (a NFHS violation) in the video several times but this seems to be allowed by the NBA.