Zebra
Somewhere in, NJ
Male, 62
I've officiated football for over 30 years, now in my 26th on the college level. I've worked NCAA playoffs at the Division II and III level. In addition, I've coached at the scholastic level and have been an educator for over 35 years. I have no interest whatsoever in being an NFL official! Ever!
I don't know. That is an NFL policy or regulation dealing with the structure of the league. I have a hard enough time understanding the playing rules. Sorry.
It is and it should be. But it is, to a degree, judgement. It may be far easier to say runner was going OOB so lay off. Running towards the EZ you're still trying to make a play.
Can a qb wear 79? Yes. But there is no "reoortibgvas eligible" in high school or college. The qb wearing 79 can play the libe and ho back. But 79 cannot catch a pass - that's an ineligible number.
Hmmm. Maybe.....
An offensive player cannot simulate the start of the play, e.g. a lineman flinching or coming out of a three-point stance. In the normal course of yelling signals, a QB might move his head. Is that simulating the start of the play? Not necessarily. If a QB has bobbed his head throughout the game and no one has moved, we have nothing. But if late(r) in the game he suddenly changes his actions at a critical time (e.g. 3rd and two, driving for the go ahead score) in an attempt to draw the defense, then we have a foul.
Hospice Nurse
HR Executive
Radio program/music director
Didn't see the play but....
The ball must break the plane of the goal line....or the goal line extended. If the runner is completely inside the pylon when he crosses the goal, then the goal line is extended beyond the pylon and the plane is broken by the ball. Out there.
There are a few moving parts in your question. You say he gets out to the one; if he is stopped there and pushed back, then the QB gets forward progress at the one. No safety. If he gets out to the one and the returns on his own to the endzone and then is tackled, he put himself there. That's a safety.
Are you talking about the Steelers? I think I saw that one and I tilted my head on it when I first saw it..
From what you wrote I'm not sure that is physically possible - to hit with a foot and have that same foot slide out. And what you describe sounds incomplete - because the first foot is out of bounds when the second hits.
That being said, what I saw was the first foot still in as the second one touched.
-OR-
(max 20 characters - letters, numbers, and underscores only. Note that your username is private, and you have the option to choose an alias when asking questions or hosting a Q&A.)
(A valid e-mail address is required. Your e-mail will not be shared with anyone.)
(min 5 characters)
By checking this box, you acknowledge that you have read and agree to Jobstr.com’s Terms and Privacy Policy.
-OR-
(Don't worry: you'll be able to choose an alias when asking questions or hosting a Q&A.)