Football Official

Football Official

Zebra

Somewhere in, NJ

Male, 62

I've officiated football for over 30 years, now in my 26th on the college level. I've worked NCAA playoffs at the Division II and III level. In addition, I've coached at the scholastic level and have been an educator for over 35 years. I have no interest whatsoever in being an NFL official! Ever!

SubscribeGet emails when new questions are answered. Ask Me Anything!Show Bio +

Share:

Ask me anything!

Submit Your Question

514 Questions

Share:

Last Answer on January 23, 2021

Best Rated

Team A is kicking off to Team B and attempts an onside kick that before it travels 10 yards is touched by Team A. This is illegal touching, but can Team B pick up the ball and advance it without fear of fumbling due to previous illegal touch.

Asked by Dre almost 12 years ago

Yes...more or less.  If there is illegal touching by A, it's going to be B's ball at the end of the play.  Unless B fouls. But basically your point is correct.  If B should fumble, the ball would be returned to the point of the illegal touch.

2nd down at opponent 25 yd ln.
Pass play for 10 yds, run for another 10 yds.
Holding by blocking wr downfield at 10 yd ln.

Is it 2nd down at 20
or 3rd down at 20?

Can the offense gain yds and not lose a down, where they committed the infraction?

Asked by J.Best almost 12 years ago

First, you don't indicate the yards to go, so I can't know if there was a first down made.  The penalty in this play would be marked off from the spot of the foul since it was beyond the line of scrimmage and behind the end of the run (with me so far?).  It is likely at least 2nd down because if the penalty is accepted, you replay the down. 

Your third point: you could make a first down, have a penalty by the offense at the end of the run, and be pushed back with the penalty enforcement but still have first down.

From youth fooball - can you intentionally trip the ball carrier? Our running back was tripped intentionally and the ref said that was ok.

Asked by Steve about 12 years ago

The ref is correct.  Most youth programs that I'm familiar with use high school rules, with appropriate modifications for the age of the younger and smaller players.  The National Federation (that's high school) rules book has two points on this.  Rule 9, Section 3, Article 2b: A player shall not block an opponent below the waist except to tackle a runner or player pretending to be a runner.  And specifically on tripping, there's Rule 9, Section 3, Article 7: A player shall not trip an opponent who is not a runner. These are safety issues.  The theory, I would guess, is that a runner is expecting to be hit at any time and from, literaly, any angle.  Blocking below the waist can be very dangerous.  You're hearing a lot about it now with the NFL restricting hits above the shoulder; analysts - many of them former players - are now saying tacklers are going to go low to avoid the head shots, and that can be a very dangerous hit. Tripping is also legal against the runner only in college.

Could offside been called on the kicker doing the onside kick in the game last night? The kicker's plant foot was across the line planted on the ground before he kicked the ball.

Asked by Darryl almost 10 years ago

No foul. The kicker is the only player who can be in advance of the ball on a free kick. Interesting how so many people have asked this for this pkay, yet it happens on virtually every onside kick. A lot of anti-Bama fans out there.

I have noticed while watching a game, the play clock will be down to a certain number say 8 then change to 25 before the ball is snapped. Please, tell me why or should this be happening?

Asked by Rick Greenberg almost 11 years ago

If the ball isn't set for some reason by the time the play clock reaches 20 seconds, the referee will pump one hand in the air to reset the play clock to 25. That's to give the offense a fair opportunity to run their offense. But 8 seconds? Something else must have happened - was there a timeout or some clock malfunction or an injury? The 25 count is "sacrosanct" and generally you don't interrupt it.

Is there a rule regarding players from the sideline entering the field of play (end zone as well) and participating in the celebration of a score?

Asked by Dont almost 10 years ago

In the NFL, there cannot be choreographed celebrations. Having your non-players (off the sideline) on the field likely falls into that category. In college it is specific: Rule 9-2-1 says no one - including the mascot - is allowed on the field during any period without the permission of the referee.

The NFL rule book says only 1 penalty can be enforced per play.
The exception being if touching a ref is one of them. How did the Bengals get two 15 yard penalties on 1 play? One for defenseless receiver and one unsportsmanlike conduct for 30 yards

Asked by Kashman100 almost 10 years ago

Th defenseless player call is a live ball foul, that is, during the play. The unsportsmanlike would probably have been a dead ball foul. after the play is over. You can enforce a live ball and a dead ball foul.