Basketball Referee

Basketball Referee

Rndballref

20 Years Experience

Chicago, IL

Male, 60

For twenty years I officiated high school, AAU and park district basketball games, retiring recently. For a few officiating is the focus of their occupation, while for most working as an umpire or basketball referee is an avocation. I started ref'ing to earn beer money during college, but it became a great way to stay connected to the best sports game in the universe. As a spinoff, I wrote a sports-thriller novel loosely based on my referee experiences titled, Advantage Disadvantage

SubscribeGet emails when new questions are answered. Ask Me Anything!Show Bio +

Share:

Ask me anything!

Submit Your Question

651 Questions

Share:

Last Answer on September 20, 2019

Best Rated

Follow up to the block/charge question 2 down. For screens, when a defender is blind to a screen they may take a huge hit. I see this called a foul on the screener ~75% of the time. Is that call correct? Is the screener flexing his shoulder illegal?

Asked by Bball Right over 10 years ago

Here are the screening rules:1) when screening a stationary opponent from the front or side, the screener may be anywhere short of contact.2) when screening a stationary opponent from behind the screener must allow the opponent one normal step backward3) when screening a moving opponent the screener must allow the opponent time and distance to avoid contact. The speed of the player to be screened will determine where the screener may set up. This may vary and may be one to two normal steps.4) when screening a player moving in the same direction, the player behind is responsible for all contact.

COACH YELLS FOR A TIMEOUT WHILE THE BALL IS NOT IN CONTROL BY EITHER TEAM. WOULD YOU EVER CONSIDER GIVING THEM A TECHNICAL FOUL FOR THIS?

Asked by AL over 9 years ago

If I thought that it was a legitimate attempt at a time out, or if it happens the first time then I would ignore the request. If I thought the coach was purposely trying to interfere with the ordinary flow of the game by asking for a time out without possession then I would call an unsportsmanlike technical.

Player A is taking the ball out of bounds and passes it in to player B. Player B quickly passes it back to the inbounder (player A). Does player A have to have both feet inbounds or does she have to place one inbounds to be established as in?

Asked by lauren over 9 years ago

one foot down inbounds is ok as long as the other foot is in the air and not out of bounds.

Is Carrying still a foul. I see it at every level of basketball.

Asked by Jim over 10 years ago

"Carrying the ball" is not a foul. It is a violation that used to be called an "illegal dribble" but several years ago NFHS added the carrying signal as its own violation.

During a dribble from backorder from court the ball is an A's front court if one of dribblers a one's feet is on the division line and the other foot and the ball are touching and A's front court true or false

Asked by Brad almost 9 years ago

To move from the backcourt to frontcourt all three points have to advance to the frontcourt...2 feet and the ball. So if a dribbler moves from the backcourt with one foot advancing as well as the ball into the frontcourt, BUT the other foot is stepping on the half court line he is considered to be backcourt.

Hi Ref, can a player blow in another players face? In my daughters game player B1 was playing defense by standing in player A1's face (within 12 inches) even when play was stopped and would repeatedly blow in A1's face. Legal? Thx

Asked by P_Johnston over 9 years ago

I would warn the player that blowing air in the face of an opponent is unsportsmanlike and the next occurance would be a technical foul.

Player A dribbles into front court, passes to Player B who has not established position in frontcourt. After the pass, Player B jumps into front court before the ball gets to him to not get called for backcourt violation. What is the right call?

Asked by Coaching Youth over 10 years ago

Backcourt violation is the correct call because a player who catches the ball while in the air is considered to be in the court position from where they last touched the court. For example, if a player is out of bounds and leaps up, as soon as the player touches the ball it should be whistled dead on an out of bounds violation.

In your question if an offense player leaps from the backcourt to touch a ball which has been established in his team's front court it is a backcourt violation. Two exceptions to this rule: 1) on a throw-in, a player can jump from either side of the centerline, catch the throw in and land on the opposite side, and 2) a defensive player who leaps from his backcourt to intercept a ball which came from his front court (which was in possession of the offense before the interception).