Basketball Referee

Basketball Referee

Rndballref

20 Years Experience

Chicago, IL

Male, 60

For twenty years I officiated high school, AAU and park district basketball games, retiring recently. For a few officiating is the focus of their occupation, while for most working as an umpire or basketball referee is an avocation. I started ref'ing to earn beer money during college, but it became a great way to stay connected to the best sports game in the universe. As a spinoff, I wrote a sports-thriller novel loosely based on my referee experiences titled, Advantage Disadvantage

SubscribeGet emails when new questions are answered. Ask Me Anything!Show Bio +

Share:

Ask me anything!

Submit Your Question

651 Questions

Share:

Last Answer on September 20, 2019

Best Rated

Can you eject a player after a high school basketball game is over?
Is he allowed to play the next game?

Asked by Kim over 10 years ago

The jurisdiction of the officials ends when the score is approved and the referees leave the visual confines of the court. Each state decides, with bylaws, what penalties will be assessed for player and coach ejections. There is no rule or penalty in the NFHS rulebook that an official can assess after a game is over. So the official should write up a game report and send it to the state (or league) for further adjudication.

Hello, I just wanted to know.
Are you allowed a half step after you crossover the ball then two more? Or only 2 and 3 is a travel?

Asked by Juvens dalger almost 11 years ago

There are no allowances for a crossover. Travelling is traveling.  Here is the travelling rule:

1) if you catch the ball with both feet on the floor, either foot can be the pivot.

2) if you catch the ball in the air and land simultaneously on both feet, either can be the pivot. If one foot hits the floor first it must be the pivot. However, if you catch the ball in the air hop on one foot then land on both feet, neither can be a pivot.

3) once you have established your pivot foot you can lift the pivot but must pass or shoot before the pivot returns to the floor. (and of course you cannot hop on your non-pivot foot if the pivot foot is in the air).

People want to say that you get 1 & 1/2 steps or you get 2 steps. Neither of these are correct. It depends on whether you are entitled to a pivot or not, and then you can lift up the pivot and onto your non pivot but you must shoot or pass before the pivot hits the floor.


If the offensive player with the ball is in the post and the man that is guarding him has his forearm on the players back and has his knees bent positioned as if hes trying to keep a door closed. Is this a foul ?

Asked by Omar over 11 years ago

I was taught in this scenario to call a foul as soon as the post player starts a dribble or makes a move toward the basket (or shoots) .  If the post player gives up the ball, pass on the foul call.

True or false After technical foul free throws, the new trail official administers the throw-in.

Asked by Cornelius almost 11 years ago

I don't think there is a perscribed rotation as to which referee should put the ball in play. As a practice, after one of my partners called a technical foul I would have him be the official to put the ball in play, thereby putting him opposite of the table and benches.

I think your question is after a technical, is the throw in official the new trail?  And the answer is yes.  On any sideline throw in, the lead should come to the trail half of the court, making the throw in official the trail.

what if i rebound the ball, and the i take a shot,but it doesn't touch the ball through the ring or board. can i still catch it again?

Asked by july over 9 years ago

Yes you can in NFHS rules as long as the shot was a legitimate try. If the referee deemed it not to be a legitimate shot it should be called traveling.

You are wise beyond your years. Thanks for the quick responses!

Asked by dhatch over 11 years ago

Thanks for the kind words!

When in the front court A2 passes to A1, the ball is deflected by a defensive player and just before crossing the division line...the ball touches A1's fingertips...can A1 get the ball legally in the backcourt?

Asked by new ref over 10 years ago

If team A loses possession because B tips the ball, but A does not reclaim possession (going thru fingertips does not establish possession) there would be no backcourt violation.